A Spanish Habit

by Chikashi

If your name is William and you get mentioned in a non-anglophone media channel, it is likely that they will refer to you as William. I realise this sounds so obvious that it is not even worth a thought. They might brutally murder the pronunciation, but it will still be written out as William or a phonetic transliteration, such as ウィリアム in Japanese.

Except in Spain.

I was flipping through some Spanish gossip magazines and kept seeing familiar faces being captioned with alien names.

His name is not Guillermo. It’s William.

Carlos? But that’s Charles.

Juan? Pedro?

I realised that they take the liberty of hispanicising foreigners’ names.

I’m sure this is not news to most people, but it was to me. I had to chortle.

I don’t think they can hispanicise mine, however.

