A Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words. Not Quite.

by Chikashi

The 2015 edition of the Granfondo Stelvio Santini is approaching and called to mind a couple of photos from last year that fail to live up to the adage ‘a picture is worth a thousand words’.

IMG_1069Visual impression: I’m completely relaxed and whistling as I am casually going up the last ramp to the Stelvio summit.

Reality: I’m in the midst of reciting the entire Encyclopaedia of Expletives, from cover to cover, for the umpteenth time. I’m guessing that I was going through the F section at this particular moment.

IMG_1070Visual impression: Utter joy as I cross the finish line.

Reality: At the captured moment, zero cognition with respect to the finish line. I was famished and was overjoyed to spot the sausage stand just 40 m ahead… only to remember a moment later that I didn’t have any cash at hand. I was shattered by the realisation that there would be no Bratwurst for me before the descent back to Bormio.

A picture can be misleading.

