Not For Me After All, No.3 London Dry Gin

by Chikashi

IMG_1187

I mentioned previously that I was having difficulties liking No.3 but was going to see if I might warm up to it in a gin Bloody Mary. Not that No.3 tastes anything like Plymouth, which I like as a Bloody Mary but need to be in a certain mood to enjoy it in purer form, I thought that I might actually like No.3 this way.

When summer arrived and tomatoes were in season, I decided to give it a try. Of course, living where I am, I have access only to over-watered, sun-deprived tomatoes devoid of any flavours. It’s a significant disadvantage, but what to do? So, I got some tomatoes, peeled and crushed them… in with some No.3, tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, ice cubes and shaken.

Sometimes, seemingly incompatible ingredients and their flavours come together beautifully, like disparate colours occurring in nature defy colour theories and exist in harmony. Or, they can clash violently. And clash, they did.

Actually, the first sip startled me. I was in disbelief so I took a few more sips to be certain. No change…

After due effort, I have to conclude that No.3 is not for me. I wanted to like it, but I just cannot.

