An Excellent Edition of Ronde van Vlaanderen Sportive

by Chikashi

2014 Ronde van Vlaanderen sportive finish line
16,000 spots were sold out as expected, and unlike last year, we had glorious weather with the temperature reaching in the high teens. The wind was negligible, at less than 8 kph. I don’t think we could have hoped for a better condition. (Ruth, Tim, Luke, you chose the wrong year to skip the ride!)

Furthermore, my legs were feeling surprisingly strong. Going up some of the nastier climbs like Molenberg, Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg, I even thought to myself that I had remembered them being much harder work. Even Paddestraat seemed smoother than usual. There was massive congestion on Koppenberg, making it look like central Mumbai during morning rush hour. Riders left and right were falling off their bikes, so I had to dismount and walk up the first half of the climb; I got back in the saddle the second half, and it seemed slightly easier than before. The congestion on Paterberg, the last climb of the day, was not as bad so I was able to ride up without incident.

The 134 km route was just perfect. Not too long, not too short. An excellent day out on the bike.

2014 Ronde van Vlaanderen

