Cycling Against Child Labour and Hunger, the Route Summary

by Chikashi

Supporting the Akshaya Patra Foundation is very important to me because no child should be forced to choose between income and basic education. My primary charitable cause is children, and my personal as well as professional association with the country of India for almost thirty years have led me to Akshaya Patra’s cause. Witnessing poverty-stricken children on the streets every time I visit the country after which my daughter is named is heart wrenching. The only way to have an enduring impact on generations to come is to enable these children to be educated. The Turin – Monte Carlo route includes extremely demanding climbs, but I’m really looking forward to the challenge and raising money for Akshaya Patra.

Turin to Monte Carlo cycling challenge route summary:

  • Total distance 470 km, of which about half is in Italy and the remainder in France;
  • Total elevation gain 11,700 m.

A more interactive map of the route where you can get street views by dragging the orange man is here.

We will climb 6 passes that stand over 2,000 m with the highest point reached on Day 3, Col Agnel / Colle dell’Agnello standing at 2,748m, sixth highest paved road in the Alps. To give you some comparative context, this year’s Tour de France had only 1 pass over 2,000 m, and it was at exactly 2,001 m. Who’s idea was this?

“Isn’t it mostly flat from Torino to Monaco?” (No detectable sarcasm)

“Well, we’re going through the Alps…”

“Which ones?”

“… (the flat ones, innit?)”

My training plan did not materialise as envisaged for one reason or another, which, I suppose, was inevitable. However, as the day we set off from Turin is approaching very quickly and having looked at the route profile a little more carefully, my stomach is starting to churn a bit…

keep calm and sponsor me

If you would like to help stem child labour in India through positive means that will have a lasting effect, then please consider sponsoring me. Many thanks.

