Climbing Wet Koppenberg

by Chikashi

Having just provisionally finished reconverting my fixie back to a geared bike, I went out west for a test spin this drizzly morning. There is nothing like the cobbles to amplify the wrinkles that need to be ironed out from the new build…

I wasn’t expecting to go up Koppenberg, but Koppenberg presented herself in all her glistening, wet glory, narrowed her eyes and said, ‘Come hither…’ I wonder whether it is actually more difficult to 1) pedal up with the rear 23c tyre having virtually no traction on the steep, wet, cobbled incline and slithering like an eel on acid, or 2) tap dance up like an arthritic Gregory Hines, wearing shoes with carbon soles and plastic cleats that provide negative traction, whilst pushing or carrying a bike.

I did both this grey morning but have not reached a conclusion…

