2013 De Ronde / Tour of Flanders Sportive Routes

by Chikashi

The other day the postman delivered the participant’s kit, including the route plan. I was going to do the full 259 km, but I decided that I am not ready for it. It is quite possible that I am physically able to do it, but obviously my mind has already lost the bout before even starting. So, I shall be pootling down the 133 km route, which actually includes 1559 m of climbing, that is, all but one of the climbs on the full menu. Yum yum. Not.

Similarly, I have decided not to do the full 271 km for the Liège-Bastogne-Liège sportive and will be doing the 155 km route instead.

Ruth and Luke will be coming over for both events. Ruth the Mamil Slayer (if you have been dropped by a redhead on a black Condor rig in sportives around Sussex and Kent, you’ve seen her) is doing the middle distance for both, so I just think it’s unrealistic for me to attempt the Full Monty. I would be quite pleased with myself if I can keep up with her the whole way through.  I will leave Luke to do the full distance, not that I can keep up with him for any distance worth mentioning.

I am still sticking to my plan of doing the full 170 km route for the Paris-Roubaix sportive, which I have randomly decided that it will be my priority this spring.

