Drivetrain for Chianti

by Chikashi

After gathering the parts, installing and tinkering with the setting, I am finally done with the drivetrain for the Motobécane.  There is something ironic about initially having converted the geared Motobécane to a single speed / fixed gear bike and then converting it back to a geared bike in preparation for a single event.  But that is all part of the fun.

I found a 41T chainring for my 144bcd cranks meant for track.  In order to get a usable chainline, I installed the chainring on the reverse of the spider.

I found that the French even made the lever boss on the downtube with threading that is different from the rest of the world.  Unbelievable.  I had it re-tapped to accommodate an Italian shift lever.

I was relieved that old derailleurs are so much simpler than modern ones.  Otherwise, a trip to the LBS would have been in order.

I dusted off the old rear wheel.  I repacked the hub, changed the freewheel and had the LBS true the wheel.  The steel Rigida rim weighs a tonne, but I have to say, it is a looker in chrome.

Two weeks until l’Eroica…  Now, if I can get my knee sorted, then I will have the whole package in order. 

