L2E Epilogue

by Chikashi

I will soon be closing my L2E fundraising page on Virgin Money Giving and Just Giving, so I thought that it would be an opportune time for last few words on the London to Edinburgh Cycling Challenge.

In addition to donations made by credit card and cheque, I received cash donations amounting to £957, which I sent to Quintessentially Foundation by bank transfer on 3 August.  I received an email on 18 August from Chloe Musgrave of Quintessentially Foundation confirming receipt of the funds. 

On 19 July, an anonymous donor made a £100 donation through Virgin Money Giving.  Thank you.  

The fundraisers collectively raised just over £200,000, of which 5% is built on the generosity of my sponsors who are based across four continents, in Belgium, Botswana, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, PRC, Switzerland, UAE, UK and USA.  Generosity sans frontières.  Thank you again.

I received a letter, dated 6 September, from Benita Refson, co-founder and chief executive of The Place2Be, the beneficiary organisation.  She correctly credits my sponsors, whom she cannot contact directly.  I thought that I would reproduce her letter here so that it may be read by all that sponsored me.  All I did was hop on a bike, and what made the difference between a long jaunt and a meaningful endeavour was the generosity of my sponsors.

To all my sponsors, thank you.


Dear Chikashi


I am writing with renewed thanks and my deepest appreciation for your incredible support through the London to Edinburgh Cycle Challenge.  This is a truly outstanding achievement and I continue to be in awe of the dedication, courage and determination you showed in cycling over 460 miles in support of The Place2Be.


This has been an exceptional opportunity for The Place2Be and we are overwhelmed and delighted by the phenomenal efforts which you went to.  I would like to offer my heartfelt thanks for the brilliant sponsorship which you personally raised, and which will enable us to continue reaching out to the thousands of children with whom we work.  Please pass on our sincere thanks to all of your friends, family and colleagues who sponsored you.


Your support means The Place2Be is able to be there to tackle children’s problems before they grow.  The evidence is clear – having The Place2Be in a school delivers positive results.  Children are happier, better behaved and more effective learners.  Teachers are more able to focus on teaching and the schools see noticeable improvements in staff morale.  Parents feel better supported and are more willing to engage with schools.


Thank you once again for helping to make a real and lasting difference to thousands of vulnerable children, families and whole school communities.  I look forward to the chance to thank you in person.


Appreciation and adoration.
Best wishes,
Benny

